Outstanding Alumni Award

The Outstanding Alumni Awards are presented annually at an awards ceremony during Alumni Weekend to an alumnus and alumna in recognition of their exemplary volunteer work on behalf of the University of Delaware and/or the University of Delaware Alumni Association. For over 50 years, the University of Delaware Alumni Association has honored University graduates with this award.

Past recipients have been honored for their Alumni Association activities and programs, leadership roles and dedication to reunions, college or department alumni activities, university steering committees and department steering committees, to name a few.

Submit an online nomination.

2015 Outstanding Alumni Award Recipients Honored

Marian Bergan Cottrell, AS85, and Fred Cottrell, AS85, and Patricia Novack Drake, HS75, 80M, are the 2015 recipients of the UDAA Outstanding Alumni Award.

Outstanding Alumni Award Recipients

L-R: Fred Cottrell, AS85; Marian Bergan Cottrell, AS85; Acting University President Nancy Targett; Patricia Novack Drake, HS75, 80M; UDAA President Anne Giacoma Barretta, AS83

Marian and Fred Cottrell are longtime supporters of the University of Delaware, both serving as volunteers on the Parents Fund Council since 2011 and as National Co-Chairs for two years. With their participation, guidance and leadership, Parents Fund donations and the number of donors increased. They are ardent supporters of Student Life and are advocates of student engagement and involvement outside the classroom. In 2010, they served on their 25th class reunion committee. They are pioneer supporters of UD’s Center for Political Communication and Fred is also currently serving on the search committee for the next president of the University of Delaware. Fred and Marian have been members of the Delaware Diamond Society since 2000 and actively attend numerous events on campus including Delaware Debates and President-hosted pre-game receptions for basketball and football games. Their son William graduated in the spring of 2015 and their daughter Catie is a member of the class of 2018.

Patricia Drake served as a committee member of the Nursing Alumni Association from 1996 to 1998 and served as its president from 1998 until 2013. She executed and participated in a variety of events and programs including the association’s Homecoming Brunch, Men in Nursing Reception, and New Graduate and Senior Receptions. Since 2009 Pat has had a pivotal role at nursing commencement ceremonies describing the history of the School of Nursing pin and welcoming the new graduates to the Alumni Association. Beginning in the fall of 2012, the Nursing Alumni Association was renamed the Nursing Alumni Network and Pat served as its president until the fall of 2014 when she became a board member. Pat continues to be active with the network and is planning yearlong events leading up to the 2016 celebration of the 50th anniversary of the School of Nursing. Pat’s husband, Peter, ANR75, is also a proud Blue Hen, and their daughter Kathryn is a 2004 graduate.

2014 Outstanding Alumni Award Recipients:

The 2013 award recipients were Shanté Stargell Hastings, EG00, and Shawn Duff, BE08

Outstanding Alumni Award Recipients

Shanté Stargell Hastings, EG00, and Shawn Duff, BE08, pictured with past University President Patrick and UDAA President Ken Jones, BE80.

2013 Outstanding Alumni Award Recipients:

The 2013 award recipients were Grace Thompson Leong, AS88 AS, President, Co-Owner, & Managing Partner, Hunter PR; and Steven E. Linberg, AS73, Principal, PharmApprove

Outstanding Alumni Award Recipients

Above: 2013 Outstanding Alumni Award winners Grace Thompson Leong, AS88, and Steven Linberg, AS73, with President Harker (left) and UDAA President Ken Jones, BE80 (right).

2012 Outstanding Alumni Award Recipients:

The 2012 award recipients were Claire M. DeMatteis, AS87, Executive VP, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary, Catalina Marketing Corp.; and Terrance Bowman, EG95 EG, VP & Technical Operations Lead, JPMorgan Chase & Co

Outstanding Alumni Award Recipients

Above: 2012 Outstanding Alumni Award winners Claire DeMatteis, AS87, and Terrance Bowman, EG95 with President Harker (right) and UDAA President Darelle Lake Riabov, AS73 (left).

To nominate a UD alumnus for the Outstanding Alumni Award please submit an online nomination. Nomination forms may also be obtained by contacting the Office of Alumni Relations via e-mail at alumnet@udel.edu or by phone: (302) 831-2341.

Contact Us  |  Our Communication Partners

The University of Delaware is an equal opportunity/affirmative action employer and Title IX institution. For the University’s complete non-discrimination statement, please see our Legal Notices.